Who Is Eligible For Zakat

Who Is Eligible For Zakat

Who is eligible for Zakat?

Zakat is a form of charity that is given to the poor and needy. It is one of the five pillars of Islam and is obligatory on every Muslim who is economically stable.

However there are some people who are actually eligible for Zakat.


The main purpose of paying Zakat is to help the society by giving something from its money. In return, Muslims receive tremendous rewards not only in this world but also in the hereafter.

Zakat also purifies your wealth and property. Islam guides us to make this world a better place by helping others and that is why it emphasizes charity.

Eligible For Zakat: Eight types of people who can be given zakat.

There are specific people who can be given zakat. Zakat cannot be paid to everyone. It is mentioned in the Quran:

“Alms are only for Fukara (the poor), and al-Masakin (the needy) and those who are employed to collect (wealth), and to draw the hearts of those who lean (towards Islam), and to free the captives; And for those who are in debt; and to Allah, and to the guide (a traveler who is cut off from everything); A duty imposed by Allah. And Allah is All-Wise and All-Wise. [Al-Qur’an 9:60]”

Who are the people that are eligible for Zakat?

Sponsor an Orphan in Pakistan

1. Al-Fukara (poor)
Fukara are people who live below the poverty line and do not have enough means to lead a normal life like others. They deserve your zakat to meet the daily necessities of their lives.

Read the following article for a clearer view. How your donation can help needy and deserving people

2. Al-Masakin (needy)
Masakins are extremely poor and needy people. These people have no property or income. Your zakat money can help them improve their living conditions.

3. Zakat Collector
Zakat can be given to those who are authorized to collect it and distribute it among the needy and poor. This includes trusted institutions and NGOs that are working to help disadvantaged Muslim communities.

4. Who converted to Islam?
Those who have recently converted to Islam are eligible to receive Zakat (if they are in need). For example, if someone has converted and is separated from their family and friends, you can give them your zakat so that they can start their new journey.

5. Releasing detainees
Slavery is prohibited in many parts of the world but there are still some places where people are trafficked and kept as slaves. Your zakat money can help slaves free themselves and improve their living standards.

6. Debtors
Zakat can be given to pay off the debt of someone who cannot repay it on his own. However, one must ensure that the money borrowed by the debtor is not used for any un-Islamic or misplaced purpose.

7. In the way of Allah
Those who are striving in the way of Allah are entitled to receive your zakat. These are the people who are fighting for Allah far away from their homes. Your zakat can help them live a better life.

8. Wayfarer (Passenger)
Zakat can be given to a traveller who is left alone in a foreign land and needs money to go back to his destination or fulfill his purpose of travelling.

There is a condition that the person must travel for a legitimate purpose otherwise he is not entitled to receive Zakat.

Refugees are also trailblazers and can be given zakat money as they leave their countries due to violence and persecution in search of a safer and better place.

Eligible For Zakat

SACHs have a good process of finding out who is actually eligible for Zakat at the time of registering the patient. Please consider donating SACHs by clicking “Donate Now” anywhere on the entire website.

We provide transparency and send you patients’ reports after treatment. The reports and medical bills are also shared with the concerned donors on a regular basis.

You can also pay Zakat on our Website by simply clicking “Donate Now“.