What are the 5 Pillars of Islam?

What are the 5 Pillars of Islam?

5 Pillars of Islam

What are the Five Pillars of Islam?

5 pillars of islam

The 5 pillars of Islam are essential for Muslims to practice in their daily lives. A Muslim’s beliefs are summarized in five simple rules called the Pillars of Islam. they are:

  1. Shahāda
  2.  Salāh
  3. Zakāh
  4. Fasting
  5. Hajj

These five pillars of Islam bind Muslims to religious obligations and provide a framework to spend their lives. Every Muslim should place his faith in these basic norms.


5 Pillars of Islam

Shahada requires a person to know something well, declare and testify. Every Muslim should give martyrdom at the first step which is a declaration of their faith in Islam.

Shahada means to accept that there is no God but Allah, and that Hazrat Muhammad (peace be upon him) is the last prophet of Allah. A person who utters this phrase with conviction becomes a Muslim at heart.

Islam invites everyone to get rid of all forms of slavery to unite for Almighty Allah. Saying Shahada out loud binds all Muslims in one ummah. Those who give shahada from their heart and have firm faith in him are promised to enter paradise in the afterlife.

The Simple Pillars of Islam

5 Pillars of Islam


Salah is regular prayer, five times a day. Muslims worship Almighty Allah by offering their prayers. It is one of the most important pillars among the 5 pillars of Islam. Prayer is not just a physical movement, but a complete process that involves all three: mind, spirit, and body.

If any of these are missing, the goal of attention will not be achieved. According to the Holy Quran, Salah protects people from distress and fear and helps to keep them away from all evils. Praying regularly not only reminds a Muslim of his faith but also strengthens his relationship with Allah. Therefore, Salala is obligatory for every adult Muslim and parents should urge their children to pray when they reach the age of seven.


5 Pillars of Islam

Zakāh is derived from the Arabic word “Tazkiyah” which means “purification”. According to Islam, it is not a charity but a religious rite for the poor, weak, old and infant in a way prescribed by Allah himself. It is the donation of a portion (2.5 %) of one’s wealth every year. It is a religious obligation to all individuals and institutions and a respectable way to help the needy.

The system of zakat proves that Islam is not just concerned about a man’s relationship with Allah, but it also gives him advice and guidance in his relationship with other human beings. Zakat is of two types: one is to provide food or money to serve those in need. The second form is to avoid indecent actions and useless things which is called fasting.


5 Pillars of Islam:

Muslims are obliged to fast during the month of Ramadan. Fasting is a way to gain self-control and discipline. A Muslim postpones the satisfaction of his daily needs and desires in compliance with the command of Almighty Allah. Fasting instills in a person the flexibility and adaptability of habits by limiting them within the limits set by the Almighty for the entire month of Ramadan.

It develops empathy in a man to feel for the poor, who experience hunger on a daily basis. A person feels compassion for the poor and actively tries to help them. According to research, about 25% of the world’s total population does not have enough food to eat.

This population can easily be fed for two to three months if just one meal is saved for a month. Therefore, zakat and fasting made a major contribution to global humanitarian relief.


Hajj is the fifth pillar of Islam. It is the largest annual religious gathering in the world which stands out due to the huge number of pilgrims. Hajj is mandatory for a person whose financial, physical and family circumstances allow it.

A pattern set by Hajj Hazrat Mohammad (SAW) consists of a whole series of individual and collective actions at different times and places in Mecca and Medina. About two million Muslims come to Mecca and Medina once a year to perform this religious duty and strengthen their faith and honor Hazrat Muhammad (PBUH). They spend time performing Hajj, ignoring worldly luxuries and other distractions.

Islam is founded on these five pillars, namely Shahada, Salah, Zakat, Fasting and Hajj. Hazrat Muhammad (peace be upon him) has provided his ummah with this action-based program from Allah to strengthen our love for Allah. It is now mandatory for all Muslims to maintain these basic norms and put them into practice.

5 Pillars of Islam