Guard your wealth by paying Zakat, seek cure for your sick by giving charity, and protect yourselves from affliction by supplication. (Hadith)

What is Zakat?

In Islam, zakat is one of the five pillars of faith. Zakat is a religious tax that Muslims are mandated to pay on their wealth. The purpose of zakat is to help the poor and needy. Zakat is collected at the time of giving and distributed through charitable organizations.

Zakat is an important part of the Islamic faith. It is a duty that Muslims are obligated to perform, and it is one of the Five Pillars of Islam. Zakat is a percentage of an individual’s wealth that is given to the poor, needy, and orphaned. It is considered a form of charity, and Muslims are encouraged to give zakat regularly.

What the word Zakat means?

It derives from the Arabic word “Zakah” which means “cleanliness, purification, increase, growth, righteousness, blessing and praise.”

When, how much, and to whom to pay?

Zakat has to be paid once a year from the date a Muslim wealth equals or exceeds the Nisab. However, only 2.5% of the wealth has to be donate to the eight categories of eligible recipients described in the Holy Quran. 

Zakah expenditures are only for the poor and for the needy and for those employed to collect [zakah] and for bringing hearts together [for Islam] and for freeing captives [or slaves] and for those in debt and the cause of Allah and the [stranded] traveler – an obligation [imposed] by Allah. And Allah is Knowing and Wise.” (Al-Tawba: 60)

Pay your Zakat Now

To know whether you are eligible to pay Zakat, we have developed an easy-to-use Zakat Calculator.

What are the benefits of paying Zakat?

Zakat has many benefits and several positive impacts on the society.

  • It is for the welfare of the unprivileged people of society.
  • It is the blessing of Allah (SWT) for the giver and the receiver, as it improves the economy of a nation.
  • It establishes a society on humanitarian grounds.
  • It removes the economic hardship for the poor and reduces the inequality among different groups of people in society.
  • It satisfies the recipient’s needs and alleviates his financial and mental suffering. Thus, it creates love and brotherhood between the rich and poor, minimizes social tensions, and bridges the gap between the poor and rich. In this way, Zakah develops social and economic security in the community and brings all members closer together.

If today the whole world follows the principle of Zakat, all the financial problems, unemployment, and poverty would vanish, thus reducing crime and frustration in society.

How does Hayat Orphanage use your donations?

At SACH Orphanage, we use your donation/zakat in the best possible manner. Fortunately, SACH Orphanage at the moment supports 125 orphan children in Pakistan. They receive proper education, lodging, food, clothing, school books, shoes, medications, and other primary necessities. And with your continuous donations, we can be able to help more and more orphans across the country.

Types of Zakat

In Islam, we have two types of Zakat, the first one is Zakat in wealth, and the second one is Zakat-al-Fitr. Zakat in wealth is the third pillar of Islam. It is obligatory upon Muslims whose annual income has exceeded the Nisab threshold. They are obliged to pay only 2.5% of their earnings to the poor and the needy once a year. Zakat-al-Fitr is paid at the end of Ramazan before Eid-ul-Fitr congregational prayer and is also a compulsory deed upon Muslims. However, the rate per person to pay Zakat-al-Fitr is 5 pounds in the UK.

What is Fidya?

Fidya is a compulsory charity act upon those Muslims who cannot fast during the month of Ramazan. And that is because of an illness, pregnancy, travel, menstruation, old age, and any other valid reasons. As described in the Holy Quran, Allah says:

“Fast a prescribed number of days. But whoever of you is ill or on a journey, then let them fast an equal number of days after Ramadan. For those who only fast with extreme difficulty, compensation is to feed a needy person for every missed day. But whoever volunteers to give more, it is better for them. And to fast is better for you, if only you knew.” Al-Baqarah 2:184

The prescribed amount for Fidya described in the Holy Quran is to feed a needy for every day not fasted that is equal to 5 pounds/day in the UK. If you are not sure about the amount of Fidya per day in your country, please consult a scholar in your hometown.

At SACH Orphanage, we accept your Fidya and spend it by providing food facilities to the orphan boys and girls in Pakistan. And with your Zakat we help their families financially and provide the best class education to the orphan children. However, we need your continuous support and cooperation to continue our humanitarian aid to the orphans in Pakistan.

What is Kaffarah?

Kaffarah becomes compulsory when a Muslim intentionally and without a valid reason breaks his fast during the month of Ramazan. Kaffarah is a penalty set forth by Allah for those who intentionally break their oath. And by paying Kaffarah Allah forgives the sins. However, Kaffarah becomes obligatory when a person while fasting in Ramazan

  • Intentionally eat or drink
  • Intentionally vomit
  • Have sexual intercourse or masturbate
  • Intentionally miss fast during Ramazan

And to compensate Kaffarah for each day of Fasting missed during Ramazan, the person must either

  • Feed 60 needy, or
  • Free one slave from captive, or
  • Fast for two consecutive months

In the UK, the per day of Kaffarah for 60 people is 300 pounds. If you are not sure about the amount of Kaffarah set in your country, please consult an Islamic scholar in your hometown.

However, we accept your Kaffarh at Hayat Orphanage and use it to provide food facilities to the Pakistan orphan children in our orphanage and across Pakistan. Currently, we support 100+ orphans at the orphanage, and the number increases day by day. We also provide them with the best class education services with proper accommodation, clothing, and stationeries.

Who is eligible to receive Zakat?

Zakat FAQs

Eight categories of people are eligible to receive Zakat mentioned in the Holy Quran in Surah Tawba, Ayat 60. And are as follows:

  • The poor
  • The needy
  • Zakat Administrators
  • Freeing of slaves/captives
  • To bring hearts together for Islam
  • Those in debt
  • Those in the path of Allah
  • Travelers (including refugees)